Wednesday, March 19, 2008

The Way of the Cross

The object of the Stations is to help the Christians remember how salvation happened. It is also a pilgrimage to Jesus Christ's sufferings and death, and this has become one of the most popular practices of Catholic devotees. It is carried out by passing from Station to Station, with certain prayers at each and does meditation on the various incidents of the station. Let us all reflect that through the suffering and death of Christ we are saved from our sinfulness. The following are the Stations of the Cross.

First Station: Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane
Second Station: Jesus, Betrayed by Judas, is Arrested
Third Station: Jesus is Condemned by the Sanhedrin
Fourth Station: Jesus is Denied by Peter
Fifth Station: Jesus is Judged by Pilate
Sixth Station: Jesus is Scourged and Crowned with Thorns
Seventh Station: Jesus Bears the Cross
Eighth Station: Jesus is Helped by Simon the Cyrenian to Carry the Cross
Ninth Station: Jesus Meets the Women of Jerusalem
Tenth Station: Jesus is Crucified
Eleventh Station: Jesus Promises His Kingdom to the Good Thief
Twelfth Station: Jesus Speaks to His Mother and the Disciple
Thirteenth Station: Jesus Dies on the Cross
Fourteenth Station: Jesus is Placed in the Tomb

No comments: