Friday, October 1, 2010

Devotion to the Holy Rosary

It’s October once again and this month is devoted to the Holy Rosary in contemplation to the Blessed Virgin Mary. Praying the Rosary is the most powerful prayer at all times. It has been treasured in the church for many centuries. The Rosary is a summary of Christian faith in language and prayers inspired by the Bible.
The devotion of the rosary originated during the 13th century in Spain by St. Dominic. He founded the order of Preachers, or Dominicans. He went to France as a missionary to convert some people. One day, the Blessed Virgin Mary appeared to Dominic, holding a rosary in her hand. She told him that the devotion of the Rosary would convert sinners and obtain great graces from God. She said “This is the precious gift which I leave to you “. From then on, St Dominic taught the people how to say the Rosary. Later, at Lourdes, France, in 1858, the Blessed Virgin appeared to Bernadette and said the rosary with her. At Fatima, Portugal, in 1917, she said the rosary with the three children to whom she appeared and said: “I am the Lady of the Rosary, and I have come to warn the faithful to amend their lives and ask pardon for their sins. People must not continue to offend the Lord who is already so deeply offended. They must say the rosary “.
The Rosary is sacramental. It calls to mind the most important events in the lives of Jesus and Mary. These events are called the Mysteries. I believe in the saying that goes “The family that prays together stays together”. Below are the four Mysteries of the Holy Rosary. I hope people will devote this month in praying the Holy Rosary for the conversion of sinners and world peace.

The Five Joyful Mysteries

  1. The Annunciation
  2. Visitation
  3. The Birth of Jesus
  4. The Presentation
  5. The Finding of Jesus in the Temple

The Five Mysteries of Light

  1. The Baptism of the Lord
  2. The Wedding of Cana
  3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom
  4. The Transfiguration
  5. The Institution of the Eucharist

The Five Sorrowful Mysteries

  1. The agony in the Garden
  2. The Scourging
  3. The Crowning with Thorns
  4. The Carrying of the Cross
  5. The Crucifixion

The Five Glorious Mysteries

  1. The Resurrection
  2. The Ascension
  3. The Descent of the Holy spirit
  4. The Assumption of Our Lady
  5. The Coronation of Our Lady

No comments: